You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

After the euphoria of their Grand Final victories last weekend the Sharks Matthews Cup and SG Ball teams have the chance to create more history when they contest National Championship matches on Saturday.

The Matthews Cup Sharks were outstanding in beating the Eels 30-16 last weekend, while in the SG Ball decider it was again the Sharks, this time to the tune of 24-16 over the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

The Matthews Cup victory was the fourth in the history of the Cronulla club, the last win coming back in 2001, while it was the first-ever triumph for the Ball Sharks in the NSWRL under-18’s competition.

Courtesy of their wins, the Sharks now move on to contest National Finals against the Queensland champions the Townsville Stingers who like the Cronulla club were successful in taking out both their state age group titles.

The matches are set down for Belmore Sports Ground on Saturday, with the under-16’s match at 11.00am, the under-18’s at 1.00pm.

As was the case last weekend the games will be streamed live on the NSWRL and Sharks websites for those unable to make the trip to Belmore. Stay tuned throughout the week for more details.

The Sharks have released team lists for both matches and understandably coach’s Glenn Brailey and Dave Howlett have stuck solid with those players who got the job done in the respective Grand Finals last weekend.

And in further Junior Rep news, both Grand Finals will be shown on Fox Sports this week from 2.30pm on Thursday. Check Foxtel guides for your local area to confirm.


Under 16’s National Championship
Sharks v Townsville Stingers
Belmore Sports Ground
Saturday, May 16
Kick-off – 11.00am

1 Dylan Smith
2 Bronson Xerri
3 Semisi Kioa
4 Jack Gould
5 Julian Spanos
6 Kai Broadhurst
7 Luke Metcalf
8 Fine Kula
9 Tamati McCausland
10 James Roumanos
11 Jaeman Salmon
12 Jay Shearman
13 Lachlan Smith ©
14 Pita Toamotu
15 Monty Raper
16 Trace Davidson
17 Rhys Ward
18 William Swann

Under 18’s National Championships
Sharks v Townsville Stingers
Belmore Sports Ground
Saturday, May 16
Kick-off – 1.00pm

1              William Kennedy
2              Josh Tuilagi
3              Curtis Scott (C)
4              Keenan Yorston
5              Cameron Scott
6              Kyle Flanagan
7              Jack Williams
8              Daniel Vasquez
9              Blayke Brailey
10           Brock Ilett
11           Jesse Savage
12           Luis Strickland
13           Billy Magoulias
14           Jaiden Brown
15           Reece Gair
16           Tony Matautia
17           Soakimi Tuitavuki
18           Justin Timu
19           Amo Lualua
21           Isaac Lumelume

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners