Sharks massive 9's win

In an impressive all-round performance the Sharks have crushed the Broncos by 31-4 in winning their second pool match at the NRL Nines.

The Sharks dominated their opponents from the outset, with the Broncos having no answer to their slick ball movement and enthusiastic defense.

It took them just a minute to open their account after regaining the kick off to start the game, with Blake Ayshford crashing over wide out.

Valentine Holmes converted from touch and the Sharks would lead 6-0.

A Broncos error gifted the Sharks possession once more and it was Ayshford once more, this time brushing off a would-be tackler before sprinting 50-metres to score a bonus point try under the uprights.

Holmes added the extras and the Sharks had their tails up at 13-0 in front.

Sami Sauiluma added to the Sharks tally when cleverly collecting a cross-field grubber to make it 17-0, before Jack Bird made it 21-0 when he finished off a sweeping move to score in the corner.

The Sharks would then defend grimly to take what appeared a match winning lead to the half time break.

If they didn’t feel safe at 21 ahead Sharks fans could certainly rest easy when Bird scored a second, before Sauiluma also made it a double with another four-pointer after some good support play.

The Broncos managed a consolation try in the closing moments of the match but it was too little too late as the Sharks made it two from two and confirmed their place in the competition finals.

The Sharks win was both the largest margin of victory for the day and the 31 points the most scored in a single match.

Tomorrow the Sharks take on the Roosters in their final pool match at 1.40pm (NZ Time, 11.40am Sydney time) with that match to determine who finshes on top of the pool.

Should they win the Sharks next match would be at 4.10pm (NZ time, 2.10pm Sydney time) or if second in the pool they would kick off at 3.45pm (NZ time, 1.45pm Sydney time).

Sharks 31
Jack Bird 2, Sami Sauliuma 2, Blake Ayshford 2 tries, Valentine Holmes 3 goals
Beat
Brisbane 4

Sharks team list - game 2 v Broncos 

Valentine Holmes
Sosaia Feki
Gerard Beale
Fa'amanu Brown
Wade Graham
Matt Prior 
Chris Heighington
Blake Ayshford
Todd Murphy
Interchange
Jack Bird
Saulala Houma
Nathan Gardner
Sami Sauiluma
Junior Roqica