You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image by Robb Cox © Michael Gordon :NRL Rugby League;  Sharks V Rabbitohs at Remondis Stadium

The only player to run out for all 24 Sharks NRL games in 2014, fullback Michael Gordon has come away with the two major awards at the Monty Porter Medal Night.

Gordon claimed the Monty Porter Medal as the Pontifex Player of the Year, while also being named the NRL Player’s Player, the two accolades a just reward for his outstanding efforts during the 2014 season.

In another stellar season Gordon was a mainstay for the Sharks, a reliable and energetic custodian who managed to cross for six tries, kicked 50 goals and provide experience and stability when a number of the senior playing group were hampered by injury and suspension.

In claiming the Monty Porter Medal Gordon followed in the footsteps of club captain Paul Gallen in becoming a back-to-back winner of the Sharks player of the year.

Gordon beat out a list of nominee for the top award that included Sosaia Feki, Wade Graham, Tinirau Arona and Gallen.

And in a display of his popularity amongst the fans, Gordon was also crowned the 2014 Members Player of the Year, an award decided by member’s votes.

In other major awards on the night young gun Jacob Gagan was named the Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year, while Gallen was the Sharks Support Community Award winner for his outstanding work and commitment to community initiatives and events.

Retiring players John Morris and Beau Ryan were acknowledged, as were the Sharks ‘Iron Men’ in Gordon, Valentine Holmes, Josh Addo-Carr, Jaden Clarke and Jake Goodwin, with all five playing every game during the 2014 season in the various grades.

A hard-working prop, Goodwin was also a winner of the NYC Player of the Year, with the players adjudged the best from the Sharks NSW Cup and NYC teams also rewarded.

In an award recognising effort and dedication away from the playing field hard-working Sharks Community Engagement Manager George Nour was a popular winner of the Club Person of the Year.

Held in the auditorium at Sharkies Leagues Club, the annual Monty Porter Medal Night was attended by around 300 players, their partners, staff and sponsors


2014 Sharks Award Winners

Monty Porter Medal – Pontifex Player of the Year
Michael Gordon

Tommy Bishop NRL Player’s Player
Michael Gordon

Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year
Jacob Gagan

Members Player of the Year
Michael Gordon

Sharks Support Community Award
Paul Gallen

Career Smart Award
John Morris

Andrew Ettingshausen Club Person of the Year
George Nour

Greg Pierce NYC Player’s Player
Jamayne Isaako

Gavin Miller NYC Player of the Year
Jake Goodwin

NSW Cup Player’s Player
Michael Lichaa

NSW Cup Player of the Year
Tim Robinson

Tackle of the Year – Jeff Robson – round 20 v Panthers

Try of the Year – Ricky Leutele – round 7 v Roosters

Hit of the Year – Wade Graham – round 20 v Panthers

Retiring Players
John Morris – 300 NRL games
Beau Ryan – 126 NRL games

Iron Man awards – Players to have played every game in 2014 season
Michael Gordon – 24 NRL games
Josh Addo-Carr – 24 NYC games
Valentine Holmes – 6 NRL, 5 NSW Cup, 15 NYC games (26 games)
Jaden Clarke – 22 NYC, 4 NSW Cup games (26 games)
Jake Goodwin – 21 NYC, 4 NSW Cup games (25 games)

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners