You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Started by the Engadine Dragons JRLFC back in 1971, the Tommy Bishop Shield began as a metropolitan knockout competition for Under 7's before growing into an event recognised as perhaps the most enjoyable and entertaining junior league knockout competition in NSW.

With the Under 7's being small, and with diminutive Sharks Captain/Coach at the time Tommy Bishop not much bigger, he was asked if he would allow his name to be used. Bishop agreed and the rest is history.

This year the tradition continues, with the 2014 Tommy Bishop Shield scheduled to take place on Sunday (August 9) on Remondis Stadium and the adjacent Endeavour Fields, with four local teams keen to become the first since the Engadine Dragons back in 1982 to claim the title.

The De La Salle, Cronulla Caringbah, Gymea and Engadine teams, chosen due to their results throughout the 2014 season, will represent the Cronulla-Sutherland Junior League as they compete with 25 under 7’s teams from around Sydney.

The day begins at 8.30am on Sunday, with each team to play five pool matches. From there the winners of each pool progress to the Championship finals, while the second, third and fourth teams from the round robin games go on to compete for the Pepsi Cup, Caltex Plate and Endeavour Cup.

Finals will be played at Remondis starting at 12.30pm, with the Tommy Bishop Shield Grand Final to kick off at 1.45pm.

The Tommy Bishop Shield is more than a competition, it is an institution everybody wants to be a part of, with the Sharks wishing the best of luck to all competing teams this weekend.

Former Winners of the Tommy Bishop Shield

2013- St. Mary's (Penrith)

2012- St. Mary's (Penrith)

2011- Wentworthville (Parramatta)

2010 - South Eastern Seagulls (South Sydney)

2009 - Minchinbury (Penrith)

2008 - St Mary's (Penrith)

2007 - St Clair (Penrith)

2006 - Revesby Heights (Canterbury)

2005 - Mascot Juniors (South Sydney)

2004 - Minchinbury (Penrith)

2003 - Cabramatta (Parramatta)

2002 - St Marys (Penrith)

2001 - Clovelly Crocodiles (Sydney Roosters)

2000 - St Marys (Penrith)

1999 - Joint Winners: St Clair (Penrith) and Minchinbury (Penrith)

1998 - Maroubra Lions (South Sydney)

1997 - St Clair (Penrith)

1996 - Campbelltown Warriors (Western Suburbs)

1995 - Mascot Juniors (South Sydney)

1994 - Mascot Juniors (South Sydney)

1993 - Hills District (Parramatta)

1992 - St Clair (Penrith)

1991 - Alexandria Rovers (South Sydney)

1990 - Wentworthville (Parramatta)

1989 - Maroubra (South Sydney)

1988 - Campbelltown City (Western Suburbs)

1987 - Eaglevale (Western Suburbs)

1986 - Campbelltown Warriors (Campbelltown-Liverpool)

1985 - Ingleburn RSL (Newtown-Campbelltown)

1984 - Enfield Federals (Western Suburbs)

1983 - Campbelltown Warriors (Western Suburbs)

1982 - Engadine Dragons (Cronulla-Sutherland)

1981 - Marist Brothers (South Sydney)

1980 - Hills District (Parramatta)

1979 - Maroubra Lions (Southe Sydney)

1978 - La Perouse (South Sydney)

1977 - Hills District (Parramatta)

1976 - Maroubra Lions (South Sydney)

1975 - South Eastern (South Sydney)

1974 - Mascot Juniors (South Sydney)

1973 - Blacktown Leagues (Penrith)

1972 - Engadine Dragons (Cronulla-Sutherland)

1971 - Engadine Dragons (Cronulla-Sutherland)

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners