You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image by Robb Cox © Michael Gordon about to score :NRL Rugby League - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks V Newcastle Knights at Remondis Stadium, Sunday July 13th 2014.

The Sharks have made just one change to the team beaten by the Knights on Sunday, with skipper Paul Gallen to miss at least the next two weeks with a biceps injury.

Coach James Shepherd has otherwise stuck with the same side, with Anthony Tupou into the starting 13 and Sioaia Vave back on the interchange bench after playing in the NSW Cup last weekend in the only two alterations to the team.

Tim Robinson and Tupou Sopoaga have been added to the squad as 18th and 19th man. 

Wade Graham takes over as captain from Gallen against the Cowboys, with the match to feature the Sharks wearing a jersey bearing the Chronic Pain Australia logo in support of National Pain Week starting July 21.

This Friday night the Sharks will be looking to put two halves together, with recent performances showing 40 minutes of quality football and another 40 they would likely rather forget.

They recovered from big half time deficits in wins over the Broncos and Roosters, before failing to defend a comfortable half time advantage against the Newcastle side last Sunday.

Against a Jonathan Thurston-led Cowboys outfit the Sharks will again need to be on their game for the full 80-minutes should they hope to register a win and climb off the bottom of the NRL ladder.

And in recognition of the RiseFor Alex round and the fundraising initiatives being arranged to mark the occasion, the Sharks will retire their number 16 jersey for the match on Friday night, the number Alex McKinnon wore when injured.

In other special incentives to get fans to attend the game, after the success of a similar promotion last weekend kids 14 and under will again be admitted free (if arriving prior to 6.30pm).

Kickoff to the Sharks v Cowboys game is scheduled for 7.30pm, with the NYC match to get underway at 5.15pm. Gates to Remondis Stadium open at 5.00pm.

NRL TEAM LIST – Round 19
Sharks v Cowboys
Friday, July 18
Remondis Stadium
Kickoff – 7.30pm

1          Michael Gordon
2          Sosaia Feki
3          Jonathan Wright
4          Ricky Leutele
5          Jacob Gagan
6          Fa’amanu Brown
7          Jeff Robson
8          Andrew Fifita
9          Michael Lichaa
10        Bryce Gibbs
11        Luke Lewis
12        Wade Graham (c)
13        Anthony Tupou
14        Pat Politoni
15        Siosaia Vave
17        Tinirau Arona
18        Sam Tagataese
19        Tim Robinson
20        Tupou Sopoaga

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners