You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Photo by Colin Whelan copyright © :       Jono Wright looks to pass as he is tackled by Ben hannant                        NRL Rugby League, Round 16 Brisbane Broncos v Cronulla Sharks at Suncorp Stadium, Friday June 27th 2014.

With Paul Gallen and Luke Lewis away on State of Origin duty and with Andrew Fifita, Chris Heighington and John Morris still sidelined with injury, the Sharks have named three potential Sharks debutants in a 19-man squad for the match with the Roosters on Saturday night.

While the run-on 13 has a similar look to the team which beat the Broncos in sensational circumstances last Friday night, the interchange bench includes Tim Robinson, Sione Masima and Pat Politoni, three players yet to run out for the club at NRL level.

Robinson, a front rower and former Manly Sea Eagle, is consistently amongst the best players in the NSW Cup each week, local junior Masima is a ball-playing backrower, while ex-Tiger Politoni is a busy dummy half more than capable of competing at an NRL level.

Robinson and Politoni have previous NRL experience, whiel Masima is chosen would be making his top grade debut. 

Stand in coach James Shepherd was in charge of Sharks training today and will make a decision on the final make up of his team later in the week.

In other team changes, impressive youngster Fa’amanu Brown comes into the team at five eighth, where he will partner the experienced Jeff Robson in the halves. 

Jacob Gagan, solid on the flank against Brisbane, has been retained on the wing.

The Shark face the Roosters on Saturday night at Allianz Stadium, with kickoff scheduled for 7.30pm.

NRL Team List – Round 17
Sharks v Roosters
Saturday, July 1
Allianz Stadium
Kickoff – 7.30pm
1          Michael Gordon
2          Sosaia Feki
3          Jonathan Wright
4          Ricky Leutele
5          Jacob Gagan
6          Fa’amanu Brown
7          Jeff Robson
8          Siosaia Vave
9          Michael Lichaa
10        Bryce Gibbs
11        Anthony Tupou
12        Wade Graham (c)
13        Tinirau Arona
14        Tupou Sopoaga
15        Sam Tagatasese
16        Junior Roqica
17        Tim Robinson
18        Sione Masima
20        Pat Politoni


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners