You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rugby League fans will have the chance to choose the game’s “Favourite Son” with online voting opening today for the annual award which kicks off almost a month of celebrations for the 2014 Harvey Norman Women in League Round.
Some of the NRL’s most respected stars have been nominated, with the winner to be announced on Wednesday, May 14, at the Women in League Sydney Lunch, the official start to the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative, to be celebrated during Round 10 of the Telstra Premiership (May 16-19).
For Sharks Fans, Michael Gordon combines his duties as a family man and husband to Tess, father to three-year-old son Cruz and his little sister Kahlani, with his commitments at the Sharks.
After joining the Sharks prior to the start of the 2013 season, Gordon has gone on to play 29 games for the club, 137 in the NRL, in a career which includes a State of Origin appearance for NSW in 2010
The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award acknowledges an NRL player whose attitude and character has an outstanding influence on the game. The recipient is a player whose integrity and reputation makes the game more appealing to women, someone who encourages mothers to involve their families in Rugby League. The nominees are:
Broncos                     Corey Parker
Bulldogs                    Sam Perrett
Cowboys                    Brent Tate
Dragons                     Brett Morris
Eels                            Ben Smith
Knights                      Jarrod Mullen
Panthers                    Kevin Kingston
Rabbitohs                  Opted not to nominate a player
Raiders                      Brett White
Roosters                    Mitchell Pearce
Sea Eagles                 Matt Ballin
Sharks                       Michael Gordon
Storm                        Ryan Hoffman
Titans                        Ashley Harrison
Warriors                    Manu Vatuvei
Wests Tigers             Aaron Woods

Online voting for the Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award starts today (Friday, May 2) at Favourite Son and closes at 11.59pm on May 11.

The eighth annual celebration of the Harvey Norman Women in League initiative celebrates, acknowledges and supports the role women play in the Rugby League family, which includes over 60,000 female volunteers, officials, players, employees and administrators at the heart of the game.
This year, the NRL will host four official Harvey Norman Women in League events beginning in Western Sydney on Monday (May 5), followed by Wollongong (May 7), Hunter Valley (May 9) and Sunshine Coast (May 20).
“Congratulations to all the Harvey Norman Favourite Son nominees whose integrity and leadership make us proud of the men they are off the field as much what they do on the field,” said Mark Deweerd, NRL Interim General Manager, Community, Culture and Diversity.
“Their efforts and attitude inspire women to be part of the Rugby League family at all levels.”

The Harvey Norman Favourite Son Award was established in 2009 and past winners include:
2009 - Hazem El Masri (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
2010 - Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta Eels)
2011 - Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)
2012 - Luke Burt (Parramatta Eels)
2013 - Anthony Minichiello (Sydney Roosters)

For more information on upcoming events and Harvey Norman Women in League please visit

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners