tmedia
Skip to main content
Main content
Homepage

Touch Academy & Reps


The Cronulla Sharks Elite Touch Football and Skills Academy is an elite skills development program aimed at the best athletes in the Shire. The program is a “first of its kind” and provides professional coaching in the skills required for Touch football and all versions of Rugby League.

Players are coached in a professional environment utilising the latest techniques in skill acquisition used in the world. Players will raise their skill level to higher levels than ever before with the benefit of video, mechanics and technical analysis.

The Academy runs for 15 sessions with training on Monday nights and is headed up by international coach Jason Stanton. Stanton’s experience includes:

-       Former captain and Triple World Champion in Touch Football for Australia

-       Head coach for Australian Women’s Rugby 7’s World Cup Winners

-       Assistant backs coach for Queensland Super Rugby

-       Consultant coach to South African Springboks Mens 7’s

-       Played in Rugby League World Cup 2000

-       Won 2006 Rugby League sevens tournament, receiving runner-up player of the tournament

 

Other Academy coaches include Touch Football Hall of Famers Darren Shelley and Stacey Gregory-Black as well as 4 time World Champion Tony Eltakchi.

The Sharks Academy philosophy along with the best coaching roster delivered in Touch Football gives the players access to coaching which has not been seen before.

 

 Key Areas of the program include:

-       Advanced Catch Pass

-       Methods of Evasion

-       Advanced Running Lines

-       Creating overlaps, using numbers

-       Gameplay Strategy

-       Compound plays (sequences used in NRL)

-       Health & Nutrition

-       Strength & Conditioning

-       Pathways to professional sports

-       Resilience training

 

Squads selected:

Girls: 11’s, 13’s, 15’s & Ladies Squads

Boys: 9’s, 11’s, 13’s & Youth Squads

 

Session Dates:

·      Monday 16th May – Boys Selection trial

·      Monday 23rd May – Girls Selection trial

·      Monday 30th May – Session 1

·      Monday 6th June – Parents & Players Information Evening Sharks leagues Club

·      Monday 13th June – Presentation at Sharks v Cowboys game

·      Monday 27th June – Session 2

·      Break School Holidays - 4th July & 11th July 

·      Friday 15th July – Session 3 Representative Games

·      Monday 18th July – Session 4

·      Monday 25th July – Session 5

·      Monday 1st August – Session 6

·      Sunday 7th August – Session 7 (evening) Video Session at Sharks Leagues Club

·      Monday 8th August – Session 8

·      Monday 15th August – Session 9

·      Monday 22nd August – Session 10

·      Saturday 27th August – Exhibition Games halftime Sharks v Roosters

·      Monday 29th August – Session 11

·      Friday 2nd September – LeagueTouch Grand Finals & Session 12 Representative Games (TBC)

·      Monday 5th September – Session 13

·      Wednesday 7th September – Session 14 Nutrition/S&C/Elite pathway presentation Sharks leagues Club

·      Monday 12th September – Session 15

·       Wednesday 15th September - Shire Summer Touch Football Competition commences

·       Thursday 16th September - JRL League-Touch Summer Competition commences

·       Please note you must play in one of the two Summer competitions to be eligible for Cronulla Sharks NRL touch football and LeagueTouch representative teams.