tmedia
Skip to main content
Main content
Homepage

Skills Development Program


The Cronulla Sharks Skills Development Program provides opportunities to athletes in the Shire to take their skills to another level in all versions of Rugby League (Touch, Tackle and Tag).

Players are coached in a professional environment utilising the latest techniques in skill acquisition, video, mechanics and technical analysis.

The program runs for 15 sessions over 10 weeks and includes representative games in Tag or Touch.

The Development Program is headed by international coach Jason Stanton who is the Cronulla Sharks Women’s Head Coach. Stanton has experience that includes Head Coach for Australian Women’s Rugby 7’s World Cup Winners and Assistant coach to South African Springbok Men’s 7's.

The program ambassadors are Valentine Holmes and Allana Ferguson.

The program has been enhanced from 2016 and includes former and current Men’s and Women’s NRL/Touch/Tag players and rep coaches. The Cronulla Sharks Skills Development Program gives the players opportunities to develop their holistic skills to excel in any version of the game.

Key areas of the program include:

-          Advanced catch pass
-          Methods of evasion and running lines
-          Creating overlaps, using numbers
-          Defensive strategies and understandings
-          Gameplay strategy
-          Compound plays (attacking sequences used in NRL)
-          Health and nutrition, strength and conditioning
-          Pathways to professional sports, resilience training
-          Touch football and tagging techniques
 
Squads selected:

Boys: 7-15
Girls: 7-15

Age division timings are confirmed after the assessment/gradings session.
 
Playing kit provided:

    •    Sharks official backpack
    •    Sharks Flexi3 Membership including official cap
    •    Socks
    •    Cronulla Sharks Skills Development Program hoodie
    •    Cronulla Sharks tee
    •    Cronulla Sharks Skills Development Program uniform (singlet and shorts)
 
Session Dates:

-        Monday 22th May – boys assessment/grading
-        Friday 26th May – girls assessment/grading
-        Monday 5th June - skills session (Valentime Holmes & Corban McGregor attend)
-        Friday 9th June - skills session
-        Monday 12th June – public holiday – no session
-        Friday 16th June - skills session
-        Saturday 17th June – NRL pre-game & halftime game
-        Monday 19th June – skills session
-        Sunday 25th June - NRL pre-game & halftime
-        Monday 26th June – skills session
-        Friday 30th June - REP games (v other Skills Academy/rep teams)
-        Break School Holidays - 3rd July and 10th July
-        Monday 17th July – skills session
-        Friday 21st July – skills session
-        Monday 24th July – skills session
-        Friday 28th July - session REP GAMES (v other Skills Academy/rep teams)
-        Monday 31st July – skills session
-        Friday 4th August - video and info session
-        Monday 7th August – skills session
-        Monday 14th August – skills session
-        Monday 21st August – skills session
-        Monday 28th August – skills session

Note we have charged for less sessions and if we get no wet weather you get bonus sessions and game days. If we get wet weather, there will be no makeups or refunds. We do this so it makes it easier for your family to organize logistics. We will only cancel a session if the fields are closed or there is lightning. We will allocate training times post assessment.